7 responses to “Retail Pharmacy Rant

  1. I really liked this post, very interesting. I think it’s easy to forget how many different things pharmacists need to know and that although they are not doctors, people still expect them to know tons of medical stuff.

    I try to always be friendly with people in shops/offices/etc and ask question in a manner that is not rude, even if I’m upset about something, and also to say thank you etc when they were exceptionally helpful.

    I must admit that it really makes me angry when people are rude though (talking about rude without reason here), because it is their job to be helpful and answer questions. Their have been times in the past where I have made comments or even asked to speak to a person’s manager.

  2. I’ve never mentioned this before – my previous husband’s dad is a retired pharmacist, and my former husband grew up in the business – doing everything from sweeping the floor to delivering scripts (yes, they did that!)

    I have a tremendous respect for my former father-in-law, and of course he is the one everyone in the family calls for advice when they are sick.

  3. Just getting around to reading your recent entries…
    oh dear— this sounds like folks treat you all in the Pharm-Biz pretty poorly…
    I usually go out of my way if I get excellent service(I typically write a letter of thanks to a manager/supervisor–I’ve done this with home-repair folks, and retail salespersons, and teachers…)
    if I receive poor or unfriendly service, I typically say NOTHING…
    Hang in there, and remember MOST folks truly appreciate your hardwork!

  4. Superb post. I am 66, an age I
    would not have reached had it not
    been for (in the human realm)
    parental love, and the love of
    other humans, especially health
    professionals. On the home page
    of a site I no longer have, I
    placed a thank you note to them.
    Your words here are a sign to me I
    need to find that note and place it on my present site. Thank you.

    Brian Salchert

  5. I am a current rural retail pharmacist and I truly enjoyed this post. Our small town pharmacy still fills 300 scripts per day and the whole process is sometimes simplified by the media etc. I rarely actually count the pills on the prescriptions I check but I prefer that so I can give it a thorough final check. We take our job seriously and sometimes we are the only accessible health care professional when people need it most. I try my hardest to be an advocate for the patient when trying to get the right medication therapy approved by insurance. This is what the modern day pharmacist does- solve problems, with insurances, drug reviews and when to make the right decisions on emergency care. Thanks for everyones support for the pharmacists around the country, and a friendly understanding patient always make my day and if I can make a difference in their health care I feel like I’m doing my job well.

  6. You’re wrong about them not being doctors. Older pharmacists who got their degree years ago only had to get a Bachelors degree. Now it’s becoming mandatory that Pharmacists get their Pharm D (Doctors of Medicine). So, they are doctors. Pharmacists are Doctors of medicine, and MD’s are Doctors of Diagnosing.

  7. to Anonymous,

    Oh, I am very much aware that most pharmacists have earned their PharmD AKA Doctor of Pharmacy degree; however, a lot of patients in GA who I have interacted with, bring scripts to a pharmacy often forgetting that a pharmacist can’t change the medication without a physician’s authorization.

Leave a Reply

