She Charms Snakes and ME!

Not even five minutes ago Paul calls me and says, “You’ll never guess who I just met.” Next follows his evil laugh, which can only mean one thing– this is a person I would I’d sell a kidney on eBay to meet. In my excitement I demand he tell me, but calm down a little because I know Dolly isn’t in Baton Route— my sense sixth tells me when she crosses the TN border. He says, “Her name is Adrienne.” First clue–nothing for me. He continues, “She handles snakes.”

OK.

At this point I squeal like a little girl (or like a five year old Dustin when hearing a Wonder Woman episode start to air— and my parents say they didn’t know). After causing some inner ear damage for Paul, I exclaim, RUTHIE!” It is no secret to anyone in my daily life that I am currently addicted to Carnivàle, and that I have a raging gay-boy crush on Ruthie (AKA Adriene Barbeau). I love everything about her character. The way she moves when charming the snakes– now, those are moves I’d kill to master. She has some snazzy lines in the show, “No man will tell me what to do in my bed.” Her age– in my book– sexty-something years old.
I am disappointed to report that Paul is not returning with “Ruthie’s” autograph. Concerning autographs, according to him, he doesn’t do that sort of thing. Well, I’ll let it slide this time; HOWEVER, if he happens across Dolly and doesn’t come back with an autograph– he’ll sleep the study for the rest of his life.

2 responses to “She Charms Snakes and ME!

  1. I may have given you this crown before, but if I haven’t let me bestow it now: You are officially the biggest ‘mo I know! 🙂

Leave a Reply

