Anorexia Witch

I am almost finished with revisions of my Anorexia Witch series. When I started my revisions I thought by this time I would have a chapbook in hand; however, that is not the case since I found myself distracted by life. I don’t feel too bad about my slacking since a friend of mine is still working on finishing the cover art. Once I’m finished with the poems I’ll ask Dr. G to review them as her opinion means the world to me.

Here’s the first poem in the series:

Anorexia Witch 1

You enter the room wearing your black hat,
tip pointing to the sky.
It never moves as you walk
or glideā€”always perfection.
You carry your cauldron,
handle over your wrist
draped like curtain over rod.
Your bubbling brew wafts
a delicious smell to my nostrils—
stirs a hunger in me,
well, almost.

You are rail thin,
your dress specially made
for a petite body.
I lust when I see the straps
of your heels criss-crossing
over your ankles.
Bewitching. Intriguing. Bewitching.

I want you to bewitch me.
Let me sip your brew,
taste your perfection.

Whispering. Cackling. Whispering.
What is this spell you’re casting?
Have I heard your words before?
Be who you are meant to be,
a witch of pure bodily perfection
ready to cast spells into the world.

Before you call to your broom,
I ask again,
cast your spell on me.

2 responses to “Anorexia Witch

  1. Overall I really like it and think it’s great, clearly a lot of work went into it. However I’m a bit disappointed by the end – not sure why though…

Leave a Reply

