LGBT Inquiry to Borders, Norwood, & Reed

BordersNorwoodReedAfter hearing about the raid on the Eagle and the incident at Black Gay Pride, I started to wonder what the front running candidates in Atlanta’s mayor race think about these two incidents.  I’m sure they must care how the Atlanta LGBT community feels.  I’m sure they have an opinion on these incidents. and I hope they won’t want to keep their opinions to themselves. So, I decided to send an email to the candidates: Lisa Borders, Mary Norwood, and Kasim Reed.  Here is what I sent to each candidate:

Dear ……,
 
Within the past week, there have been two incidents involving the Atlanta Police Department and the Atlanta LGBT community. The first incident was at Black Gay Pride.  The second incident was last night at the Eagle.  These incidents are leaving Atlanta’s LGBT community feeling like a target for the APD.  Since you are running for mayor in the city where these incidents occurred, I’d appreciate your response and thoughts on these incidents. 
Thank you for your time, and I look forward to your timely response.
 
warm regards,
Dustin

Hopefully, each candidate will respond.   I’ll definitely keep you updated!

 

Here are some links about the incidents:

Leave a Reply

